Professor Neta Bahcall Receives President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching

Wednesday, May 19, 2021
by Department of Astrophysical Sciences

Neta Bahcall, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Astronomy and Professor of Astrophysical Sciences has been awarded a President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching bestowed by Princeton University. She is one of four University professors to receive this honor of distinction in 2021. Professor Bahcall was nominated for this award by colleagues, students, and alumni who recognize her as an inspirational leader in the field of Astronomy and as an exceptional teacher and mentor to students in their academic and career pursuits. First coming to Princeton in 1971, she is known for her research in topics such as: Observational cosmology, dark matter, dark energy, mass-density of the Universe, galaxy clusters, quasars, and supermassive black holes. Prof. Bahcall is notable for her extraordinary dedication to Princeton’s students as Director of Undergraduate Studies in Astrophysical Sciences; she has served in this position since 1993.

The President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching was established at Princeton University in 1990 as a gift by Lloyd Cotsen, Class of 1950, and John Sherrerd, Class of 1952. They sought to create faculty teaching awards to recognize outstanding Princeton faculty members.  Award recipients receive a cash prize and their departments receive a monetary sum to purchase new books. The award is given each year during Princeton University’s Commencement ceremony. Commencement 2021 took place on May 16th at Princeton Stadium.

The full story can be read here.