Professor Neta Bahcall Receives the Antoinette de Vaucouleurs Medal

Monday, Oct 29, 2018
by Department of Astrophysical Sciences

Astrophysical Sciences’ Neta Bahcall was recognized on October 24thas speaker and medal recipient at the 20thannual Antoinette de Vaucouleurs Memorial Public Lecture at the University of Texas at Austin. Endowed as the Antoinette de Vaucouleurs Lectureship and Medal, it honors the late Antoinette de Vaucouleurswho was an astronomer in the Astronomy Department at the University of Texas at Austin for 25 years. The lectureship and medal are awarded annually to an “outstanding astronomer in recognition of a lifetime of dedication to astronomy”. 

This year’s recipient, Neta Bahcall, is Princeton’s Eugene Higgins Professor of Astrophysics and the Director of the Undergraduate Program in Astrophysics. She is well-known for her research that focuses on understanding the structure and properties of the universe by using numerous observational methods such as large-scale survey data from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey.

Professor Bahcall is pictured on the left receiving the Antoinette de Vaucouleurs Medal from Shardha Jogee, right, University of Texas Astronomy Department Chair. Additional information about the memorial lectureship can be read here.