Jo Dunkley and the Planck Team win Gruber Prize in Cosmology

Thursday, May 10, 2018

The Planck team, and its Principal Investigators Nazzareno Mandolesi and Jean-Loup Puget, are the recipients of the 2018 Gruber Cosmology Prize.  The team includes Jo Dunkley, Professor of Astrophysical Sciences, who worked on analysis of the Planck satellite data while at Oxford.  Prof Bill Jones in the Physics department leads the Princeton Planck group, with team members Aurelien Fraisse, former post-doc Cynthia Chiang and former graduate students  Jon Gudmundsson and Sasha Rahlin.  “The Planck project has made definitive measurements of the properties of our expanding universe.  This stunning achievement was the result of a large group effort, and we are pleased to recognize both the Planck team as a whole and its principal science team leaders.”  Says Robert Kennicutt, University of Arizona, and Chair of the Selection Advisory Board to the Prize.

Bill Jones

Bill Jones

aurelien fraisse

Aurelien Fraisse

Jo Dunkley

Jo Dunkley

Gruber Prizes

The International Prize Program honors individuals in the fields of Cosmology, Genetics, and Neuroscience, whose groundbreaking work provides new models that inspire and enable fundamental shifts in knowledge and culture.

Each prize carries a gold medal and unrestricted cash prize of $500,000.


The Cosmology Prize honors a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the universe.

Since 2001, the Cosmology Prize has been cosponsored by the International Astronomical Union.

The Cosmology Prize acknowledges and encourages further exploration in a field that shapes the way we perceive and comprehend our universe. In doing so, The Gruber Foundation seeks to extend the pioneering legacy of, among others, Plato and Aristotle; Ptolemy and Copernicus; Brahe, Kepler, and Galileo; Newton and Halley; Einstein and Hubble.