FACULTY HONOR: Spergel elected to The American Philosophical Society

July 19, 2022

In June, David Spergel, Emeritus Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and Emeritus Charles A. Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation was elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society, along with 36 others, including two other Princeton faculty.  Election to the APS honors extraordinary accomplishments in all fields.   Spergel is currently serving as the President of the Simons Foundation and received the NASA Exceptional Public Service Medal earlier this year.

The American Philosophical Society, based in Philadelphia, was founded in 1753 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge,” and is the oldest learned society in the United States.  The society engages leading scholars, scientists, and professionals in various fields to promote interdisciplinary fellowship.

Other members of the Society from the Princeton Astrophysics Community, past and present include: John Bahcall, Bob Dicke, Jim Gunn, Jerry Ostriker, Jim Peebles, Martin Schwarzschild, Lyman Spitzer, Joe Taylor, Neil Tyson, Tony Tyson, and John Wheeler.

News Category