FACULTY HONOR: Ostriker, Stone, Binney elected to National Academy of Sciences

May 3, 2022

Eve Ostriker, Associate Chair, Department of Astrophysical Sciences; Lyman Spitzer, Jr., Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics, Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and James Stone, Emeritus Professor of Astrophysical Sciences, Emeritus Lyman Spitzer, Jr., Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics, have been elected members of the National Academy of Sciences. In addition, James Binney (now of Oxford University) was elected an international member of the National Academy; he was Visiting Assistant Professor in Princeton from 1979 to 1981.  The three of them were among 120 new members and 30 international members elected Tuesday, May 3rd, 2022, in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. 

Congratulations to Eve, Jim, and James: well done!

A number of Princeton and Institute for Advanced Study astrophysicists have been named members of the NAS in the past.  They include: 

John Bahcall

Neta Bahcall

Adam Burrows

Bruce Draine

Albert Einstein

Jim Gunn

Jeremiah Ostriker

Bohdan Paczyński 

Lyman Page

Jim Peebles

Eliot Quataert

Henry Norris Russell

Martin Schwarzschild

David Spergel

Lyman Spitzer

Suzanne Staggs

Paul Steinhardt

Joseph Taylor

Scott Tremaine

David Wilkinson

Matias Zaldarriaga


News Category