FACULTY HONOR: Ostriker selected to become an American Physical Society Fellow

Oct. 19, 2022

Eve Ostriker, Associate Chair and Lyman Spitzer, Jr., Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics, has been selected to become an American Physical Society Fellow by the American Physical Society (APS).  Ostriker was elected by the Council of Representatives for this honor with the citation “For seminal contributions to our understanding of the physical process that controls star formation in galaxies, and the structure and dynamics of the turbulent interstellar medium.”

The American Physical Society (APS) is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents more than 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world.

Other astrophysicists from Princeton who have been given this award include: 
Adam Burrows
Lyman Page 
Jim Peebles
Franz Pretorius
Hong Qin
Eliot Quataert
David Spergel
Anatoly Spitkovsky
Suzanne Staggs
Paul Steinhardt
Jim Stone
Neil deGrasse Tyson

Congratulations, Eve on this honor!

News Category