FACULTY AND ALUM AWARDS from the American Physical Society

Sept. 12, 2022

Amitava Bhattacharjee, Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory (PPPL) received the American Physical Society (APS), 2022 James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics.  The award citation reads, "for seminal theoretical investigations of a wide range of fundamental plasma processes, including magnetic reconnection, magnetohydrodynamic turbulence, dynamo action, and dusty plasmas, and for pioneering contributions to linking laboratory plasmas to space and astrophysical plasmas."  Bhattacharjee is the former head of the Theory Department at the U.S. Department of Energy’s PPPL from 2012 to 2021 and he received his doctorate from Princeton in 1981.  To read more about Bhattacharjee's award, visit the PPPL website.

Jonathan Squire *15 received the APS, Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research.  The award citation read, “For theoretical contributions to our understanding of plasma waves and turbulence in astrophysical plasmas and the solar wind, and for the discovery and characterization of a broad class of instabilities in dusty astrophysical plasmas."  Squire received his Ph.D. from Princeton in 2015 and studied at the PPPL from 2010-2015.

The American Physical Society (APS) is a nonprofit membership organization working to advance and diffuse the knowledge of physics through its outstanding research journals, scientific meetings, and education, outreach, advocacy, and international activities. APS represents more than 50,000 members, including physicists in academia, national laboratories, and industry in the United States and throughout the world.

Congratulations to Amitava and Jonathan on your outstanding accomplishments!

News Category