Dave McComas wins Hannes Alfvén Medal

Nov. 5, 2021

David McComas, Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and Princeton’s Vice President for the Princeton Plasma Physics Lab, has been honored by the  European Geosciences Union (EGU) by being named a recipient of the 2022 Hannes Alfvén Medal.  This honor is in recognition of McComas’s outstanding scientific contribution in research on plasma processes in the solar system.  Prof. McComas leads Princeton’s Space Physics group, pursuing experimental research in environments including the solar corona, solar wind, terrestrial and planetary magnetospheres, and the outer heliosphere where it adjoins  the local interstellar medium. McComas has led or participated in dozens of NASA missions, is author of over 700 publications, and holds seven patents.   Currently, MCComas is principal investigator of NASA’s Interstellar Mapping and Acceleration Probe (IMAP), scheduled to launch in 2024, and he previously served as principal investigator for the Interstellar Boundary Explorer (IBEX) mission and the Integrated Science Investigation of the Sun (ISʘIS) energetic particle instrument suite on Parker Solar Probe.

Prof. McComas will receive the Hannes Alfvén Medal during the next EGU General Assembly in April 2022.

News Category