Astrophysics’ Eve Ostriker and Jim Stone Elected as Members to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2020
by Department of Astrophysical Sciences

Eve Ostriker, Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and Associate Chair, and Jim Stone, Emeritus Professor of Astrophysical Sciences, are among the newest members to be elected in 2020 to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (AAAS) in recognition for their outstanding contributions in the field of Astronomy and Astrophysics.  Professor Ostriker’s research focuses on the theory of star formation, the interstellar medium, and the structure and evolution of spiral galaxies. Professor Stone’s research concentrates on the use of large-scale direct numerical simulations to study the magnetized gas and radiation dynamics of a wide range of astrophysical systems from protostars to clusters of galaxies.

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences was established in 1780 during the American Revolution and its mission is to benefit society through every art and science in order to advance knowledge and learning across disciplines to improve peoples’ lives. The AAAS confers the distinction of honor as a member to leaders around the globe who are experts in the arts and sciences, business, philanthropy, and public affairs.

Professor Ostriker and Emeritus Professor Stone join the ranks of 13,500 elected members since AAAS was first established. Other current AAAS members from Princeton’s Astrophysics community include: Neta Bahcall, Adam Burrows, Jim Gunn, Jeremiah Ostriker, Lyman Page, Jim Peebles, David Spergel, Suzanne Staggs, and Joe Taylor.

The AAAS 2020 announcement and entire list of 2020 elected members can be found here.