Remembering astrophysicist Edward Jenkins, an ‘excellent scientist’ and ‘kind soul’
July 11, 2024

It is with great sadness that the Department of Astrophysical Sciences shares the news that Edward B. Jenkins, senior scholar and longstanding member of the department, passed away on July 9, at the age of 85. 

“Ed’s enjoyment from everything he did was palatable and beautiful,” said Neta Bahcall, a longtime…

Tejada and Ward Receive 2024 Department Equity Prizes
July 2, 2024

The Climate Committee of the Department of Astrophysical Sciences has recognized two department members with Equity Prizes for their work within and outside of the department.  The 2024 awardees are Roberto Arevalo Tejada and Charlotte Ward.  We thank them for their dedication to the department and beyond!


Jo Dunkley, Joseph Henry Professor of Physics and Astrophysical Sciences, elected a Fellow of the Royal Society
May 16, 2024

Jo Dunkley, Joseph Henry Professor of Physics and Astrophysical Sciences, has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society!  The Royal Society is an independent scientific academy of the UK, dedicated to promoting excellence in science for the benefit…

Uddipan Banik, Joint Research Associate & Member, IAS has received the Dirk Brouwer Memorial Prize from Yale University
May 15, 2024

Uddipan Banik, Joint Research Associate & Member, IAS has received the Dirk Brouwer Memorial Prize from Yale University. The Dirk Brouwer Memorial Prize is awarded to recent graduates of the Yale Astronomy Department for outstanding PhD theses of unusual merit in any branch of astronomy. We are delighted that Uddipan Banik,…

Graduate Students Yan Liang and Stephen Majeski Awarded Proctor Fellowship by Princeton University
April 26, 2024

Yan Liang and Stephen Majeski have been awarded the Charlotte Elizabeth Proctor Fellowship by Princeton University’s Graduate School for the 2024-2025 academic year.  In the words of the citation, this honorific fellowship “recognizes outstanding performance and professional promise, and represents high commendation from the…

Astro Seniors Win Two NSF Graduate Fellowships and One Honorable Mention
April 4, 2024

Cole Meyer ’24 and Helen Shao ’24 have won the highly prestigious prize Fellowship awarded by the National Science Foundation, and Wolf Cukier ’24 received an honorable mention.  The purpose of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is to help ensure the quality, vitality, and diversity…

Jamey Szalay, Research Scholar, Leads Paper on Oxygen Production on the Jovian moon Europa
March 7, 2024

A team including Jamey Szalay, a Research Scholar in the Department of Astrophysical Sciences recently published a paper discussing the amount of oxygen that has been found on Jupiter’s moon Europa.  Using data from the Jovian Auroral Distributions Experiment (JADE) instrument on the Juno mission, the team determined that Europa “generates…

Four Princeton University Students Receive Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Awards
Feb. 2, 2024

The American Astronomical Society has announced that three Princeton students are among the six graduate student recipients of the Chambliss Astronomy Achievement Student Awards. Third year graduate student Jiaxuan Li and first year graduate students Miguel Montalvo, and Ronan Hix will receive that award, “given to recognize exemplary research…

Emeritus Professor Jim Stone Awarded the James Craig Watson Medal
Jan. 22, 2024

Jim Stone, Emeritus Professor of Astrophysical Sciences, Emeritus Lyman Spitzer, Jr., Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics at Princeton, and currently Professor in the School of Natural Sciences at the Institute for Advanced Study, has just been awarded the…

Professor Neta Bahcall Awarded the American Astronomical Society’s Highest Honor
Jan. 12, 2024

Neta Bahcall, Princeton’s Eugene Higgins Professor of Astronomy has been awarded the American Astronomical Society’s highest honor, The Henry Norris Russell Lectureship!  The award is given for “a lifetime of eminence in astronomical research.”

Bahcall received this award “For her central contributions to determining the average…