Department of Astrophysical Sciences

The Department of Astrophysical Sciences has two divisions, astronomy and plasma physics. The astronomy division offers undergraduate and graduate degrees; the plasma division offers a graduate degree. The Department also has an active postdoctoral research program.  We are a diverse and vibrant community of faculty, research staff, and students who work on a wide range of topics in astronomy and astrophysics. As a community, we take pride in creating an inclusive and equitable department climate.  We have strong links to neighboring groups in the Department of Physics, the Institute for Advanced Study, and the Center for Computational Astrophysics at the Simons Foundation, and we run monthly observing events for the public

photo credit: Chang-Goo Kim

Upcoming Events

Astroplasma Seminar (DR)
Fri, Jul 19, 2024, 12:30 pm2:00 pm
Extrasolar Planet Discussion (DR)
Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 12:00 pm1:00 pm
Astroplasma Seminar (DR)
Fri, Jul 26, 2024, 12:30 pm2:00 pm